Crafty Cuts – Home DIY 2

Given that we’re saving for our wedding, some things have got to give; those things include frivolous purchases like another pair of shoes I don’t need but we’re also trying to cut down on eating out/take aways/nights out – which is mega hard especially as we live in town! I’m trying to keep myself occupied and I find myself taking on more and more DIY projects in the flat. The flat, as I’ve said, is a blank whitewashed canvas and I’m being increasingly drawn to colourful flashes here and there. My next DIY was influenced by a throw that I was bought by some good friends for my last birthday and I thought I’d take some of the brightness of the colours and spruce up an old IKEA lack table that I was given by my mum!

2013-05-27 11.12.23You know by now that painting is my preferred DIY of choice, I mean; it’s cheap and quick – what else do you need? So I popped to Wilkos ready to buy some bright, in-your-face paint. My luck was in and 3 Dulux sample pots were on offer for £1. That’s right, a whole £.  I went all out and chose Raspberry Bellini; I don’t do things by half.

I didn’t want to paint the whole table, I’m brave but not that brave so I decided to just paint the table-top. Made even easier by the unscrewable legs of the table. Early one Saturday, I headed armed with old newspapers and a brush and painted the table top – it took me about 30 minutes, not too shabby. I left to dry for a few hours and then painted a second coat. It didn’t look half bad.

2013-05-27 19.46.42

Even Chris was impressed.

How great are the cushions? £3.25 and they go perfectly with my new(look) table. Good show Wilkos.

I’ve got a few more home DIYs coming up, so be warned!

 

Leave a Reply

