Wedding Malarky: Episode 1: The Proposal (& Ring)

So, it’s exciting this getting married business before I start babblering on about colours, invites and dresses,  I suppose you’re all dying to hear about the proposal? Proposals are exciting aren’t they? Usually romantic, heartfelt and all that. I’ll give you a clue here, mine wasn’t, but in all honesty if it had been it wouldn’t have been Chris.

The biggest secret is that I had been proposed to, 6 weeks before we announced it; and I didn’t tell a soul. How I managed it I don’t know! We wanted a ring before telling people and we got mine handmade so opted to wait a bit. We were complete novices though and thought we’d get a ring the same day. How foolish we were. So anyway, the proposal….

It was Friday, Chris and I had been for a meal at Strada, it was threatening to snow and slushy and wet so we decided to go back home and have a few drinks there. We settled down on the sofa and Chris was sorting the G&Ts out. ( He makes a mean one if you’re interested and ever down our way!) And coming back to the lounge, he muttered the immortal words; ‘shall we get you a ring then?’. I, obviously, was a bit blase at this point and said ‘well, yes one day’. He looked suitably miffed at this stage, where were the tears? the quickly shouted ‘YES!’ So, I said ‘Do you mean it?’ and then he said ‘of course I do’. And then we got emotional. And then I started looking at engagement rings online.

I’d kind of decided that I didn’t want a traditional ring, I didn’t think I was fussed by diamonds, no solitaires, no clusters so when we went into the snowy streets the next day on Sheffield I had no expections. Well, apart from the one that the jewellers would be open, but nope, all the jewellers I wanted to look in were closed. And I will admit, I may have stamped my foot. I just wanted to try a ring on, dammit! We decided to steathly book a day off work the next week, I used the excuse of waiting in for a workman while Chris used me. I had a face on with him apparently. Nice work there Howarth.

We ventured to Chesterfield where we experienced less than perfect customer service. ( I may have stamped my foot again) But headed back to Sheffield, where we lunched and gained some perspective on the whole matter. We looked around and I got to try some diamonds on and boy did my feelings about them change! Yes, I wanted sparkles! I also thought I’d probably get white gold but after trying a few rings on I decided that yellow gold was the one for me. After at one point having about 5 rings on one finger, we begun to get an idea of what suited me. We did want the ring to be extra special so we went to Michael Spencer in Orchard Square to see if he could make me the design of ring that I wanted and of course he could, and 5 weeks later we collected the ring.

I like the idea of having something made for us, designed by us by someone working the city we live in, Sheffield plays such a huge part in our lives that we really want to keep the City Centre going and keep out of Meadowhall. We’re going back to Michael to get our wedding rings made and I’d really recommend him to anyone. He also has a selection of second hand and already-made jewellery so I will be checking it out for gifts in the future.

That’s it. The proposal. Now for all the exciting stuff……

Leave a Reply

